Welcome to TechWhirl Forums

Sign in or Register to get involved in our discussions.

Everything I Need to Know As a Technical Writer I Learned In High School

TechWhirl WebsiteTechWhirl Website United StatesPosts: 396 admin
edited September 2013 via Wordpress in Technical Writing and Communications
Everything I Need to Know As a Technical Writer I Learned In High School

Not many of us started off here. Although it seems that the field has been growing steadily for twenty years, there haven't historically been a lot of technical writing programs, and thus most technical writers began their professional lives as…something else. Of the technical writers I heard from, only four had been through a dedicated program and turned it into a career. The other fifteen had come from other fields — mostly technology.

Read the full story here

Comments

• Cathy ScodaCathy Scoda Posts: 1
    via Wordpress
    Thank you for this excellent article! I, too, am a former teacher (but not of high school students...you brave person!). I joined this technical writers discussion group, because part of my job requires that I write instructional product manuals and other types of product documentation for Web-based products. I don't consider this as "technical" as some other products (because many of our products are built with for the non-tech folks to use), but this group's discussions give me some food for thought. Your article gives me hope that a career as a technical writer might be worth investigating.
  • Miles KimballMiles Kimball Posts: 1
    via Wordpress
    I understand the story behind your title (you started as a high school teacher), but the title and your article also give the impression that training in tech comm isn't valuable or worth getting -- in essence, that anyone can be a good technical communicator with a basic high school education.