Welcome to TechWhirl Forums

Sign in or Register to get involved in our discussions.

Transitioning to Technical Writing

I majored in journalism in undergraduate and graduate school and I am interested in transitioning to technical writing. The problem is I don't know what steps to take. I've done some research and I'm reading some books on technical writing and I took a course on Coursera, but what next? Unfortunately, I don't have the money to take a college course at the moment, would getting certified by the STC be a good goal? I have no idea how I would go about getting experience. I have found very few avenues for volunteering online, and less so for aspiring technical writers. There are no organizations or technical writing hubs where I live. How do I gain the experience to apply to entry-level technical writer jobs in the future? Where do I get the experience? What kind of experience should I prioritize?

Comments

• smajorssmajors United StatesPosts: 24
    All of the above, as you mentioned. I graduated with a degree in tech comm but had a concentration in Journalism, so, as they're all related to writing and English, I think any related field would give you similar experience to be able to pursue a career in tech writing, especially an entry level position. Some of my job responsibility as a tech writer is editing content already drafted or styling it in a format that adheres to our company style guide, and some aspects of editing in technical writing are related to the editing in Journalism. Put together a short portfolio of a few projects or work samples if possible.

I'd also suggest looking into some common authoring and content management tools used in the field. Maybe look at tech writing job postings and see what the requirements are. For example, when I landed my current job it was preferred I know the software they use but was not required as long as I was proficient in a similar tool.